Umpungushe Nonogwaja

TV series, 1982

The adventures of a country rabbit who comes to the city to seek his fortune. He shares a room with a jackal, who helps him adjust to his new life in the city.

Production summary: 

Premiere date:

6 January 1982






Children and youth

Number of series:


Number of episodes:



Paul Raleigh

Translation of title:

"Rabbit and Jackal"


Episode 1
Original air date: 6 January 1982

Rabbit receives some good news: he got a job in the city! He travels to the big city where he meets Jackal and four other friends: Mike, Timmy, Sue and Manfred.

Episode 2
Original air date: 13 January 1982

Rabbit and Jackal visit the zoo, where they see seals, monkeys and giraffes. Then they have a picnic on the lawn.

Episode 3
Original air date: 20 January 1982

We’re back at the zoo where we meet some more animals: lions, elephants, crocodiles, snakes... But then it’s time to return home.

Episode 4
Original air date: 27 January 1982

When Rabbit wakes up with a terrible toothache, Jackal takes him to the dentist.

Episode 5
Original air date: 3 February 1982

Rabbit and Jackal decide to hold a concert for their friends. They make sweets for the big occasion.