The Sound of Murder

TV series, 1982

Mini-series based on William Fairchild’s stage play and specially adapted for television. The story is set in the country house of Charles Norbury, a successful children’s author. When the sadistic and abusive Charles refuses to give his wife Anne a divorce, it drives her and her lover, Peter Marriott, to come up with a more drastic – and gruesome – plan.

Production summary: 

Premiere date:

7 January 1982






Drama series; Thriller and suspense; Based on stage play

Number of series:


Number of episodes:



Ken Leach

Based on:

William Fairchild's stage play

Cast and Crew: 

Dale CuttsCharles Norbury
Lynda StuartAnne Norbury
Mike HuffPeter Marriott
Anthony FridjhonInspector Davison
Timothy Heale 
Gail Lambert 


Episode 1
Original air date: 7 January 1982

When Charles Norbury refuses to give his wife a divorce, Anne Norbury and her lover Peter Marriott plot to kill him.

Episode 2
Original air date: 14 January 1982

According to their finely worked out plan, Peter was supposed to shoot Charles dead. But when Anne enters the house, there’s no body. Her lover and her husband have disappeared without a trace.

Episode 3
Original air date: 21 January 1982

Finale. Anne and Peter have give in to the outrageous demands of Charles’ secretary, otherwise she will tell all to the police. Or will she?